Euro 2020

All about UEFA EURO 2020

by: Adam Smith


What will be the 12 host cities? Who is qualified? In dams? What are the groups? All the information you need to know.

What are the dates to remember?

The final phase runs from June 11 to July 11, 2021.

What are the groups?

Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Northern Macedonia

Group D: England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F: Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

Who are the host countries?

UEFA EURO 2020 will be held throughout Europe for the first time on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the competition, in twelve different cities.

Final, semi-finals, a Round of 16, and three group matches
London, England: Wembley

Three group stage matches, one quarter-final match
Baku, Azerbaijan: Olympic Stadium
Munich, Germany: Fußball Arena München
Rome, Italy: Stadio Olimpico
Saint Petersburg, Russia: Saint Petersburg Stadium

Three group stage matches, one round of 16
Amsterdam, The Netherlands: Johan Cruijff Arena
Bilbao, Spain: Estadio de San Mamés
Bucharest, Romania: National Arena
Budapest, Hungary: Puskás Ferenc Stadium
Copenhagen, Denmark: Parken Stadium
Dublin, Republic of Ireland: Dublin Arena
Glasgow, Scotland: Hampden Park

The road to EURO 2020

Does a host country qualify directly?

There will be no direct qualifiers, all nations with host cities have tried to earn their place in the finals.

What is the format of the playoffs?

▪ 20 teams – the top two from each of the ten qualifying groups – qualified via the European Play-offs, which took place between March and November 2019.

▪ Four more nations earned their place via the new UEFA Nations League, with decisive play-offs. The UEFA EURO 2020 play-off matches have been postponed to 8 October (semi-finals) and 12 November (finals).

What is the format of the tournament?

The format will be the same as at UEFA EURO 2016, with the top two from each of the six groups reaching the Round of 16 with the best four third-placed teams.

Are the host countries playing at home?

Each qualified host country is expected to play two group stage matches at home, with no guarantee in the knockout phase. A maximum of two host countries will be in one of the six groups.

The qualified host countries have been placed in the following groups:

Group A: Italy (Olimpico in Rome)*.
Group B: Russia (St. Petersburg Stadium), Denmark (Parken, Copenhagen)*.
Group C: The Netherlands (Johan Cruijff ArenA, Amsterdam)*
Group D: England (Wembley, London)*, Scotland (Hampden Park, Glasgow)
Group E: Spain (San Mamés, Bilbao)*.
Group F: Germany (Football Arena Munich)*, Hungary (Puskás Arena, Budapest)

*Guaranteed to play all three group stage matches at home after qualifying via the European qualifiers. As both Russia and Denmark have reached UEFA EURO 2020 through the European qualifiers, an additional draw was held on November 22, 2019 to determine which team will play all three group stage matches at home; Denmark will have three home group matches and Russia two.

Stadio Olimpico will host the opening match.

How can fans find out about ticketing?

Some 2.5 million tickets are on sale. An initial application period was open from June 12 to July 12, 2019.

If registered applicants do not obtain a ticket, they are part of the UEFA Fans First program, which means that they will be the first to be informed about future ticketing opportunities.

The next ticket application phase opened in December 2019 (after the finals draw) when tickets were available to fans through the participating national associations. However, to be eligible during this phase, fans had to meet specific criteria defined by the national associations.

All existing tickets remain valid for the 2021 tournament. Ticket holders who nevertheless wish to be reimbursed will have a final opportunity to submit their request from June 18 to June 25 via Dates for potential future ticket sales, including for fans of the four teams that qualified via the play-offs, will be confirmed at a later date.

Can I volunteer at the EURO?

Click here for information on volunteer positions.

Who are the ambassadors?

Several former EURO winners are among the ambassadors of the competition. “We look forward to their involvement and support for UEFA EURO 2020, an event that will be closer to soccer fans than ever before,” said UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin. See the full list of ambassadors here.

Skillz is the mascot of the EURO. He is a colorful character, inspired by the culture of street soccer and freestyle.