Euro 2020

All euro top gunners from 1960 to 2016 UEFA EURO 2020 – Euro 2020

by: Adam Smith


At the UEFA European Championship, the Golden Boot was not awarded until EURO ’96, when Alan Shearer won it in front of his audience.

The top scorer at UEFA EURO 2020 will receive the Alipay Top Scorer award.

2012 Golden Boot winner Fernando Torres

2012 Golden Boot winner Fernando TorresBongarts/Getty Images

1960: 2 Francois Heutte (France), Viktor Ponedelnik (USSR), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Draan Jerkovich (Yugoslavia), Milan Galis (Yugoslavia)
1964: 2 Jesus Maria Pereda (Spain), Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Desza Novok (Hungary)
1968: 2 Dragan Dzhajich (Yugoslavia)
1972: 4 Gerd Muller (West Germany)
1976: 4 Dieter Muller (West Germany)
1980: 3 Klaus Allofs (West Germany)
1984: 9 Michel Platini (France)
1988: 5 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1992: 3 Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karl-Heinz Riedle (Germany), Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Tomas Brolin (Sweden)
1996: 5 Alan Shearer (England)
2000: 5 Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Miloshevovich (Yugoslavia)
2004: 5 Milan Baro ‘(Czech Republic)
2008: 4 David Villa (Spain)
2012: 3 Fernando Torres (Spain), Alan Dzagoev (Russia), Mario Gomez (Germany), Mario Mandukuki (Croatia), Mario Balotelli (Italy), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2016: 6 Antoine Griezmann (France)

*In 2012, Torres won the Golden Boot because he also scored an assist and played fewer minutes than the other players with three goals; Gomez won the silver boot, while Dzagoev won the bronze shoe
Cristiano Ronaldo (three goals and three assists) won the silver boot, while Olivier Giroud (three goals and two assists) won the bronze

Most goals in the final phase

Alan Shearer was the first official winner of the gold shoe at EURO

Alan Shearer was the first official winner of the gold shoe at EURO

9: Michel Platini (France)
9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
7: Alan Shearer (England)

Most goals (including qualifications)

40: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
25: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
23: Robbie Keane (Republic of Ireland)

Most goals in a single final phase

9: Michel Platini (France, 1984)

Best Player of the Tournament Award

In addition to the Golden Shoe, since 1996 he has been awarded the award of best player of the tournament, according to the opinion of UEFA technical observers. The winners were:

Antoine Griezmann with the UEFA EURO 2016 Player of the Tournament award

Antoine Griezmann with the UEFA EURO 2016 Player of the Tournament awardIcon Sport via Getty Images

1996: Matthias Sammer (Germany)
2000: Zinédine Zidane (France)
2004: Theodoros Zagorakis (Greece)
2008: Xavi Hernandez (Spain)
2012: Andrés Iniesta (Spain)
2016: Antoine Griezmann (France)

Best young player in the tournament

This award was awarded for the first time to UEFA EURO 2016.

2016: Renato Sanches (Portugal)

If two players finish euro 2020 on equal merit, the winner of the Alipay Top Scorer award will be decided according to the following criteria:
1) More assists in the final phase;
2) Fewer minutes played in the final stage;
3) Most goals scored in euro 2020 qualifiers (qualifications, play-off semi-finals and play-off finals).
4) Fewer cards (sum between yellow and red) received at the final stage
5) Fewer cards (yellow and red) received in Euro 2020 qualifiers