Euro 2020

EURO, from Muller to Griezmann, the top scorers of each final phase UEFA EURO 2020 – Euro 2020

by: Adam Smith


UEFA EURO 2020’s top scorer will receive the Alipay Trophy.

Fernando Torres, crowned in 2012

Fernando Torres, crowned in 2012Bongarts/Getty Images

1960 : 2 goals François Heutte (France), Viktor Ponedelnik (USSR), Valentin Ivanov (USSR), Draan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia), Milan Galio (Yugoslavia)
1964 2 Jess Maria Pereda (Spain), Ferenc Bene (Hungary), Desza Novok (Hungary)
1968 2 Dragan Daaji (Yugoslavia)
1972 : 4 Gerd Muller (West Germany)
1976 4 Dieter Muller (West Germany)
1980 3 Klaus Allofs (West Germany)
1984 : 9 Michel Platini (France)
1988 5 Marco van Basten (Netherlands)
1992 : 3 Henrik Larsen (Denmark), Karl-Heinz Riedle (Germany), Dennis Bergkamp (Netherlands), Tomas Brolin (Sweden)
1996 5 Alan Shearer (England)
2000 : 5 Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Savo Milosevic (Yugoslavia)
2004 5 Milan Baroo (Czech Republic)
2008 4 David Villa (Spain)
2012 : 3 Fernando Torres (Spain), Alan Dzagoev (Russia), Mario Gomez (Germany), Mario Manduki (Croatia), Mario Balotelli (Italy), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2016 6 Antoine Griezmann (France)

*Torres received the 2012 Golden Boot for an assist in more than six goals and being the player who played the fewest minutes for scoring all three of his goals; Gomez received the Silver Shoe while Dzagoev was Bronze Shoe
Cristiano Ronaldo (three goals, three assists) won the Silver Shoe; Olivier Giroud (three goals, two assists) won the Bronze Shoe

Top scorer in the finals

Alan Shearer: first official winner of the Golden Shoe

Alan Shearer: first official winner of the Golden ShoePopperfoto via Getty Images

9: Michel Platini (France)
9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
7: Alan Shearer (England)

Top scorers (including qualifications)

40: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
25: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)
23: Robbie Keane (Republic of Ireland)

Top scorer in a single final set

9: Michel Platini (France, 1984)

Tournament players

In addition to the Golden Shoe, an official Tournament Player Trophy has been awarded since 1996 by THE UEFA Technical Observer team. The winners are:

Antoine Griezmann was named player of the tournament in 2016

Antoine Griezmann was named player of the tournament in 2016Icon Sport via Getty Images

1996: Matthias Sammer (Germany)
2000: Zinédine Zidane (France)
2004: Theodoros Zagorakis (Greece)
2008: Xavi Hernandez (Spain)
2012: Andrés Iniesta (Spain)
2016: Antoine Griezmann (France)

Best young person

This award was presented for the first time at UEFA EURO 2016.

2016: Renato Sanches (Portugal)

In the event that two players are tied at the end of Euro 2020, the winner of the Alipay Trophy will be determined on the basis of the following criteria:
1) More assists in the finals,
2) Smaller number of minutes played during the final phase,
3) the large number of goals scored in the 2020 playoffs (including dams),
4) Smaller number of cards received in the final set
5) Smaller number of cards received in euro 2020 qualifiers