Euro 2020

Europa League 2020 Final: date, venue and tickets UEFA Europa League – Euro 2020

by: Adam Smith


Where and when will the final take place?

The Gdask Stadium in Gdassk, Poland, hosts the UEFA Europa League 2019/20 final on Wednesday 27 May 2020.

Watch the ten best goals of last season in the Europa League

Watch the ten best goals of last season in the Europa League

Located in the Letnica district, the 45,000-square-metre curved exterior of the stadium consists of 18,000 plaques designed to resemble amber, long mined along the Baltic Sea coast.

What does the route to Gdassk look like?

The 2019/20 Europa League calendar shows all the dates of the draw and matches leading up to this season’s final.

How can fans get tickets?

The demand phase for the UEFA Europa League final starts in March 2020.

Is a ticket to the Champions League at stake?

The winner of the UEFA Europa League 2019/20 will automatically qualify for the group stage of the UEFA Champions League 2020/21. If the winner of the UEFA Europa League is qualified for the group stage via its national championship, the third club of the association ranked fifth (France) qualifies for the group stage.

What if the two teams are tied after 90 minutes?

Then we will have the right to the extension: two 15-minute periods. If the two teams are still tied after 120 minutes, then the final will be played on penalties, with five shooters succeeding each team before sudden death if the tie continues.

Where has the UEFA Europa League final been held in the past?

The Warsaw National Stadium hosted the only previous Europa League final in Poland in 2015. Sevilla beat Dnipro to retain their title and lift the trophy for the fourth time.

Since the uefa Europa League was overhauled in 2009/10, the final has been played in ten different countries, stretching across the continent from Dublin, Ireland, to Baku, Azerbaijan.

2009/10 In: Hamburg Arena (Germany)
2010/11 In: Dublin Arena (Ireland)
2011/12 In: National Arena Bucharest (Romania)
2012/13 In: Johan Cruijff ArenA, Amsterdam (Netherlands)
2013/14 : Juventus Stadium, Turin (Italy)
2014/15 In: Warsaw National Stadium (Poland)
2015/16 In: St. Jakob-Park, Basel (Switzerland)
2016/17 In: Friends Arena, Solna (Sweden)
2017/18 In: Stade de Lyon (France)
2018/19 : Baku Olympic Stadium (Azerbaijan)

Are there any former winners in the running this year?

Among the 16th finalists this season are eight former UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League winners: Sevilla (5), Inter (3), Porto (2), Manchester United (1), Shakhtar Donetsk (1), Ajax (1), Leverkusen (1) and Frankfurt (1).

Who won the UEFA Europa League?

Watch the highlights of the 2019 final

Watch the highlights of the 2019 final

Sevilla holds the record for the most uefa/UEFA Europa League titles, with five triumphs. Inter, Juventus, Liverpool and Atlético are not far away with three wins each.

2009/10 In: Atlético de Madrid
2010/11 In: Porto
2011/12 In: Atlético de Madrid
2012/13 In: Chelsea
2013/14 In: FC Sevilla
2014/15 In: FC Sevilla
2015/16 In: FC Sevilla
2016/17 In: Manchester United
2017/18 In: Atlético Madrid
2018/19 In: Chelsea

Which final gave birth to the most goals?

Liverpool 5-4 Deportivo Alavés (2000/01, Dortmund)

Liverpool held up the trophy for the third time after a spectacular nine-goal final against Alavés. Jordi Cruyff equalised for the Spanish club in the 88th minute to snatch extra-time, but the Spaniards were reduced to nine before Delf’s Geli deceived his own goalkeeper three minutes from time, giving Liverpool victory on a golden goal.