Euro 2020

Germany’s EURO records: top scorers, titles, stars UEFA EURO 2020 – Euro 2020

by: Adam Smith


Germany will play their 50th final match against France in Munich on Tuesday 16 June. UEFA.com tells you about the extraordinary EURO journey of the Germans in the competition.

Mannschaft has qualified for all finals since her first appearance in 1972 (participating in a total of 12 final stages without considering EURO 2020) and in 2024 she will play her 14th final stage as host. The three-time European champions (1972, 1980, 1996) – a record shared with Spain – last lifted the cup in 1996 under Berti Vogts, the only player to win the UEFA European Championships (with West Germany in 1972) and as a coach.

West Germany celebrates 1980 victory

West Germany celebrates 1980 victoryGetty

To be complete, the Germans have so far reached the final in half of their 12 appearances in the final, although they have not won in their only home game (such as West Germany in 1988). There have also been lows – for example in 2000 and 2004 when he did not pass the group stage – but Joachim Law’s national team remains one of this summer’s favourites. Read these stats and tremble.

Germany’s path to previous Euros?

3: first place (1972, 1980, 1996)
3: second place (1976, 1992, 2008)
3: semi-final (1988, 2012, 2016)
3: group stage (1984, 2000, 2004)
1: Unqualified (1968)
2: not entry (1960, 1964 – East Germany entered every EURO edition from 1960 to 1988 but never made it to a final stage; participated in the euro ’92 qualifying draw except withdrew its candidacy following the reunification of 1990)

Who has played the most EURO matches with Germany?

Former Bayern Munich and Manchester United midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger is the second player after Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo to make more appearances in the finals.

    Bastian Schweinsteiger in his fourth EURO in 2016

Bastian Schweinsteiger in his fourth EURO in 2016Getty

18: Bastian Schweinsteiger (2004, 2008, 2012, 2016)
14: Philipp Lahm (2004, 2008, 2012)
13: Mario Gomez (2008, 2012, 2016)
13: Thomas Handsler (1992, 1996)
13: Jurgen Klinsmann (1992, 1996)
13: Miroslav Klose (2004, 2008, 2012)

Who are Germany’s top scorers in the final stages of the euros?

Mario Gomez's exultation after a goal at EURO 2012

Mario Gomez’s exultation after a goal at EURO 2012AFP via Getty Images

5: Mario Gomez
5: Jurgen Klinsmann
5: Gerd Muller
4: Lukas Podolski
4: Rudi Véller
4: Dieter Muller

Who are Germany’s top scorers in the different final stages of the euro?

Gerd Muller at EURO 1972

Gerd Muller at EURO 1972Hulton Archive

Gerd Muller (1972), Dieter Muller (1976), Klaus Allofs (1980) and Karl-Heinz Riedle (1992) were the ultimate top scorers.

1972: Gerd Muller (4)
1976: Dieter Muller (4)
1980: Klaus Allofs (3)
1984: Rudi V’ller (2)
1988: Rudi V’ller (2)
1992: Karl-Heinz Riedle (3)
1996: Jurgen Klinsmann (3)
2000Mehmet Scholl (1)
2004: Michael Ballack, Torsten Frings (1)
2008: Lukas Podolski (3)
2012: Mario Gomez (3)
2016: Mario Gomez (2)

Which German players have scored the most goals in a single match than a euro final?

Two of the eight hat-tricks scored in the final stages of euro have been scored by players from Germany (of the West).

3: Dieter Muller (West Germany 4-2 Yugoslavia, semi-finals 17/06/76)
3: Klaus Allofs (West Germany 3-2 Netherlands, group stage 14/06/80)

Which Germany players participated in more than one EURO?

No one has played more than four Euros, although Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo could become the first to reach the five EURO 2020 appearances.

Lothar Matthaus at EURO 1988: with 150 appearances he is the German with the most appearances

Lothar Matthaus at EURO 1988: with 150 appearances he is the German with the most appearances Icon Sport via Getty Images

4: Lothar Matthaus (West Germany/Germany 1980, 1984, 1988, 2000)
4: Lukas Podolski (Germany 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016)
4: Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016)

Who led West Germany/Germany in the final stages of the euro?

Helmut Schon (Belgium, 1972), Jupp Derwall (Italy, 1980) and Berti Vogts (England, 1996) led their teams to glory. Joachim Was Germany’s coach in more EUROS than any other coach.

EURO 2020 will be the fourth European Championship for Joachim

EURO 2020 will be the fourth European Championship for Joachim©Getty Images

1972: Helmut Schon
1976: Helmut Schon
1980: Jupp Derwall
1984: Jupp Derwall
1988Franz Beckenbauer
1992: Berti Vogts
1996: Berti Vogts
2000: Erich Ribbeck
2004: Jurgen Klinsmann
2008: Joachim Law
2012: Joachim Law
2016: Joachim Law




Background Image

Color Skin