Euro 2020

Host nations at EURO: how much did they win? How important is the field factor? UEFA EURO 2020 – Euro 2020

by: Adam Smith


So far, the host nation has reached the final of the UEFA European Championship five times out of 15. There are three teams that have won the tournament in front of their audience: Spain (1964), Italy (1968) and France (1984). More recently, Portugal (2004) and France (2016) were beaten at home in the final.

Although there are 12 cities hosting UEFA EURO 2020, only England have a chance to win the tournament in front of their fans, as the final on 12 July will be played at Wembley Stadium. An encouraging statistic for Gareth Southgate’s team says that when the tournament was staged in one country, the hosts always made it to at least the semi-finals. However, in the European Championships held in two countries (Belgium and the Netherlands in 2000, Austria and Switzerland in 2008, Poland and Ukraine in 2012), only one host nation managed to make it through the group stage: the Netherlands, a semi-finalist at UEFA EURO 2000.

Host nations: results per edition

Four teams from 1960 to 1976 participated in the tournament, eight from 1980 to 1992 and 16 from 1996 to 2012. Since 2016, 24 teams have participated: this is how the home teams have gone so far.

Cristiano Ronaldo after the final lost in 2004

Cristiano Ronaldo after the final lost in 2004

1960: France (fourth)
1964: Spain (champion)
1968: Italy (champion)
1972: Belgium (third)
1976: Yugoslavia (fourth)
1980: Italy (fourth)
1984: France (champion)
1988: West Germany (semi-finals)
1992: Sweden (semi-finals)
1996: England (semi-finals)
2000: Belgium (group stage), Netherlands (semi-finals)
2004: Portugal (second)
2008: Austria (group stage), Switzerland (group stage)
2012: Poland (group stage), Ukraine (group stage)
2016: France (second)

The top scorers of the host nations by edition

In six editions, the tournament’s top scorer was the host nation: Francois Heutte (France, 1960), Jesus Maria Pereda (Spain, 1964), Michel Platini (France, 1984), Tomas Brolin (Sweden, 1992), Alan Shearer (England, 1996), Patrick Kluivert ( Holland, 2000) and Antoine Griezmann (France, 2016).

Antoine Griezmann after one of the six goals he scored at UEFA EURO 2016

Antoine Griezmann after one of the six goals he scored at UEFA EURO 2016

1960: Francois Heutte (France, 2)
1964: Jess Maria Pereda (Spain, 2)
1968: Pietro Anastasi, Angelo Domenghini, Luigi Riva (Italy, 1)
1972: Raoul Lambert, Odilon Polleunis, Paul Van Himst (Belgium, 1)
1976: Dragan Dzhajich (Yugoslavia, 2)
1980: Francesco Graziani, Marco Tardelli (Italy, 1)
1984: Michel Platini (9)
1988: Andreas Brehme, Jurgen Klinsmann, Lothar Matthaus, Olaf Thon (West Germany, 1)
1992: Tomas Brolin (Sweden, 3)
1996: Alan Shearer (England, 5)
2000: Bart Goor, Emile Mpenza (Belgium, 1), Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands, 5)
2004: Rui Costa, Maniche, Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, 3)
2008: Ivica Vastich (Austria, 1), Hakan Yakin (Switzerland, 3)
2012: Jakub Baaszczykowski, Robert Lewandowski (Poland, 1), Andriy Shevchenko (Ukraine, 2)
2016: Antoine Griezmann (France, 6)

*Top scorer of the tournament (also ex-fair)