Spanish football

Second round of the Cup: Sestao-Athletic, Escobedo-Sevilla… – SPANISH FOOTBALL

by: Adam Smith


Second round of the Cup: Sestao-Athletic, Escobedo-Sevilla... - SPANISH FOOTBALL 1

The new Copa del Rey continues to pick up speed. The 53 winners of the first round of the KO tournament and the two that are still to be decided (the suspended Merida-La Nucía and Pontevedra-Ibiza) already know their new opponents for the next playoff. They will be played on 11 and 12 January, weekend in which LaLiga will not be played as he is released for the Cup and the Spanish Super Cup. This draw, almost as important for modest football as it is the Christmas Lottery draw for the Spaniards, departed several jackpots.

The Levante will have to face Real Jaén, a team that gave the biggest surprise of the first round by eliminating the Alavés (3-1), only eliminated team from the 16 First Division clubs. Also noteworthy is the Basque rivalry, the Sestao receives a historic Cup, Athletic. Leganés will face Murcia and Escobedo, who eliminated Malaga, will receive Sevilla, five times the winner of the KO tournament. Espanyol will visit Madrid to take in San Sebastian de los Reyes.

Of the 13 surviving teams of LaLiga SmartBank, nine fell in the first round (Almería, Sporting, Malaga, Oviedo, Lugo, Numancia, Racing, Alcorcón and Extremadura), include the Cultural-Huesca, Nistic-Zaragoza and the Recreativo-Fuenla, re-editing last year’s playoff game. In addition, Elche will face The Yeclano, who will not participate in the first round because he is exempt due to not being matched with any rival in the previous draw after the expulsion of the Reus.

The draw for the second round maintained the matchmaking criteria of the previous playoff. Smaller teams will face the top-level teams and will always be played on the field of the smallest team, as long as it meets minimum requirements. Valencia, Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atlético are also exempt, who during the week of January 12 will compete in the Spanish Super Cup in Saudi Arabia with a final format four. It will be from sixteenths, the next round to which it is sorely around today, when they begin their journey in this new Cup.

Matchups of the First Teams against Third and Second B clubs

Sestao River – Athletic

Jaén – Levante

Real Murcia – Leganés

Escobedo – Seville

Caceres – Eibar

Portugalete – Betis

Ceuta – Royal Society

Zamora – Mallorca

Tamaraceite – Granada

Marbella – Valladolid

Merida-La Nucía winner (suspended) – Celtic

San Sebastian de los Reyes – Espanyol



Haro Deportivo – Osasuna

Second vs. Second B teams

Badajoz – Las Palmas

Barakaldo – Rayo Vallecano

Winner Pontevedra-Ibiza (suspended) – Albacete

Cultural Leonesa – Huesca

Unionists – Sportsman

Yeclano – Elche

Nistic – Zaragoza

Recreational – Fuenlabrada

Majadahonda – Tenerife

Ebro – Ponferradine

UCAM Murcia – Mirandés

Cartagena – Girona

UD Logroñés – Cadiz