Spanish football

Spain will avoid Belgium, France and Italy in the League of Nations – SPANISH FOOTBALL

by: Adam Smith


Spain will avoid Belgium, France and Italy in the League of Nations


The Spanish national team will avoid Belgium, France and Italy in the 2020-21 League of Nations group stage, where it will coincide well with Portugal, the Netherlands, England or Switzerland.

Under the draw procedure approved on Wednesday by the UEFA Executive Committee, Spain will be in League A hype 2, which will include teams ranked fifth to eighth, along with Belgium, France and Italy.

One of their rivals will come out of hype 1, where they will be Portugal – title champions – and Netherlands, runners-up, along with England and Switzerland, who played the game for the third place, resolved with the victory of the English team on penalties.

Last year Spain won their first two games against England (1-2) and Croatia (6-0) and lost the next two at their stadium against England (2-3) and in Zagreb against Croatia (3-2).

The other two early-stage Spanish rivals will emerge from hype 3, which will be Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark and Sweden; and hype 4, which will include Croatia, Poland, Germany and Iceland.

UEFA has confirmed that the competition access list is based on the results of the 2018-19 First League of Nations selections, including promotion results and relegation between the leagues.

Thus, League A will play from first to 16; League B 17-32, League C 33-48, and League D 49-55.

For the 2020-21 edition of League B teams from Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic (hype 1), Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland (hype 2), Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland and Ireland North will participate (kick 3), Bulgaria, Israel, Hungary and Romania (kick 4).

In League C will be Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Georgia (hype 1), Northern Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Cyprus (hype 2), Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Luxembourg (hype 3) and Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan and Moldova ( bass drum 4).

Finally, League D will be played by Gibraltar, the Faroe Islands, Latvia, Liechtenstein (kick 1), Andorra, Malta and San Marino (kick 2).

UEFA will draw the group stage on 3 March, in Amsterdam, and the dates of the competition are as follows:

First day: September 3-5, 2020

Second day: September 6-8, 2020

Third day: October 8-10, 2020

Fourth day: October 11-13, 2020

Fifth day: November 12-14, 2020

Sixth day: November 15-17, 2020.

Final round: June 2-6, 2021.