Euro 2020

The Red Devils will have their base camp in Tubize during the Euro – Euro 2020

by: Adam Smith


The Red Devils will have their base camp at the Tubize national football centre during UEFA, UEFA (European Football Union) confirmed on Thursday.

Federal coach Roberto Martinez had already indicated last month that the Devils would move to Tubize during the Euros, which UEFA has just officially officialized. The European Football Union had given a deadline to the 20 nations directly qualified for the final round of the Euro as to their final choice of their base camp.

Russia, the Devils’ first opponent on 13 June in St Petersburg, will have its base camp in Novogorsk, north of Moscow. The Russians had already resided there during the 2018 World Cup.

Denmark, which Belgium will face on 18 June in Copenhagen, has chosen Helsingor as its base camp, 25 km from the Danish capital. Finland, which will face Roberto Martinez’s troops on 22 June in St. Petersburg, has set its sights on Repino, north of St. Petersburg. Roberto Martinez had also thought about these facilities, which had hosted England during the 2018 World Cup, until it was learned that the qualified countries were required to spend at least five days in their base camp before their first game, and Finland had already taken an option.

The Belgians will stay in Denmark for a few days after the second pool match in Copenhagen, before returning to St Petersburg to face Finland. The option of an internship in Norway before the tournament, a time mentioned, was not chosen, the aim being to spend as much time as possible in Tubize.

The Devils will play four friendlies before the Euros, two in March against European teams and two in June. There is a good chance that the Belgians will leave for a lucrative internship in Qatar during the march international truce, from 23 to 31 March. One of the two matches in June will take place in Brussels.

Two of Belgium’s three opponents have already established their pre-Euro programme. Russia will play Sweden on 28 March in Solna, Moldova on 31 March in Chisinau, Poland on 2 June in Warsaw and Serbia on 6 June. Finland will face Poland on 27 March in Wroclaw, France on 31 March, Sweden on 4 June in Solna and Estonia on 7 June in Tampere. Denmark will face England on 31 March in London.

The base camps of the 20 teams directly qualified for the final phase of Euro 2020 football:

Group A

Italy: Coverciano (Italy)

Turkey: Baku (Azerbaijan)

Switzerland: Rome (Italy)

Wales: Baku (Azerbaijan)

Group B

Belgium: Tubize (Belgium)

Denmark: Helsingor (Denmark)

Finland: Repino (Russia)

Russia: Novogorsk (Russia)

Group C

Netherlands: Zeist (Netherlands)

Ukraine: Bucharest (Romania)

Austria: Seefeld (Austria)

Group D

England: Burton upon Trent (England)

Croatia: St. Andrews (Scotland)

Czech Republic: Currie (Scotland)

Group E

Spain: Las Rozas de Madrid (Spain)

Sweden: Maynooth (Ireland)

Poland: Portmarnock (Ireland)

Group F

France: Clairefontaine-en-Yvelines (France)

Germany: Herzogenaurach (Germany)

Portugal: Budapest (Hungary).